School Logo School Logo

Throston Primary School

A Flying Start to Success

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Within Throston’s Early Years we are following the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS)

which sets the Standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to five years of age.

This framework aims to encourage children in all aspects of their development as the first five years of life are crucial to your child’s long term success.

The EYFS seeks to provide:

  • quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;
  • a secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;
  • partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;
  • equality of opportunity and antidiscriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.

At Throston we aim to encourage your child to achieve their full potential, in a caring warm environment. Children will work towards achieving the Early Learning Goals (ELGs) by the end of the Early Years (see list of ELGs at the back of the brochure).

Carefully planned play opportunities are created to stimulate children’s learning. A child centred approach to learning is adopted as we believe that children learn best when they are interested.

We aim to take into account children’s current interests and will adapt our environment accordingly.

Development, depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.

The EYFS curriculum, which we follow at Throston, is based on 4 principles: